General

Feeding the pacemakers with the vibrations produced by the heartbeat

Feeding the pacemakers with the vibrations produced by the heartbeat



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Despite the fact that pacemakers only require small amounts of power (around 1 millionth of a watt), their batteries have to be replaced periodically and that involves multiple surgeries for patients. Researchers have looked for ways to extend battery life - trying to generate energy with blood sugar, or the movement of the hands and legs - but these methods either interfere with metabolism or require more radical surgery. like passing a cable from the extremities to the chest area.

Aerospace engineers M. Amin Karami and Daniel J. Inman of the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor have developed a prototype device that could power a pacemaker using a source that is very close to the problem: cavity vibrations. thoracic that occur mainly due to the beating of the heart.

The authors describe the technique and its progress in a recent article in the AIP journal Applied Physics Letters (entitled "Powering pacemakers from heartbeat vibrations using linear and nonlinear energy harvesters").

Source: Nanowerk



Video: Rhythms Gone Wild! Tachycardia in a Patient with a Pacemaker. (August 2022).

Allgemeines

Fütterung der Herzschrittmacher mit den vom Herzschlag erzeugten Vibrationen

Fütterung der Herzschrittmacher mit den vom Herzschlag erzeugten Vibrationen

Trotz der Tatsache, dass Herzschrittmacher nur geringe Mengen an Strom benötigen (etwa 1 Millionstel Watt), müssen ihre Batterien regelmäßig ausgetauscht werden, was mehrere Operationen für Patienten mit sich bringt. Forscher haben nach Möglichkeiten gesucht, die Batterielebensdauer zu verlängern - sie versuchen, mit Blutzucker Energie zu erzeugen, oder die Bewegung von Händen und Beinen -, aber diese Methoden stören entweder den Stoffwechsel oder erfordern eine radikalere Operation. als würde man ein Kabel von den Extremitäten zum Brustbereich führen.

Die Luft- und Raumfahrtingenieure M. Amin Karami und Daniel J. Inman von der University of Michigan in Ann Arbor haben einen Prototyp entwickelt, der einen Herzschrittmacher mit einer Quelle antreiben kann, die dem Problem sehr nahe kommt: Hohlraumvibrationen. Brust, die hauptsächlich aufgrund des Herzschlags auftreten.

Die Autoren beschreiben die Technik und ihren Fortschritt in einem Artikel, der kürzlich im AIP-Journal Applied Physics Letters veröffentlicht wurde (mit dem Titel "Schrittmacher aus Herzschlagvibrationen mit linearen und nichtlinearen Energy Harvestern versorgen").

Quelle: Nanowerk


Video: SureScan Herzschrittmacher mit MRT Zulassung (September 2020).