Healthy habits

How Exercise Can Help Us Sleep Better

How Exercise Can Help Us Sleep Better



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.


Daily exercise affects sleep habits.

There is a tendency to believe that when you exercise you can sleep better, but in the case of people with sleep problems, such as insomnia, this relationship is much more complex.

People who suffer from insomnia have a hyperarousal of the stress system, and a single exercise session in a given day is not enough to overcome that excitement, it could even be aggravated, since exercise is a physical stressor. However, as revealed by the results of a study, recently published in the journalThe Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine, if a continuous exercise program is maintained for at least 4 months, physical exercise will improve sleep.

Apparently in patients with insomnia, sleep affects exercise more than exercise on sleep.

The authors recruited 11 patients with insomnia who were randomly assigned to remain inactive or to start a moderate resistance exercise program (usually a stationary bike or a treadmill), consisting of 3 or 4 30-minute sessions per week. of exercise, at the same time as their sleeping habits were recorded. This exercise program lasted for 16 weeks

Subjects rarely reported getting better sleep after exercising during the day, however they did say that after having a poor night's sleep they exercised for shorter periods of time.

Although after two months, the subjects had not improved their sleep after performing the exercise program, they did begin to show improvement after four months. At the end of that time, the exercise group volunteers slept much more soundly than they did at the beginning of the study, on average the duration of sleep was between 45 minutes and an hour longer on most nights, they woke up less frequently and were more active and less sleepy during the day.

Baron KG, Reid KJ and Zee PC. The Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine (2013). More information.

Related topics: How exercise can help us sleep better.

  • Tips and remedies to cure insomnia
  • Causes of insomnia


Video: Food, Exercise, Sleep Connection (August 2022).

Gesunde Gewohnheiten

Wie Bewegung uns helfen kann, besser zu schlafen

Wie Bewegung uns helfen kann, besser zu schlafen


Tägliche Bewegung beeinflusst die Schlafgewohnheiten.

Es besteht die Tendenz zu glauben, dass Sie beim Sport besser schlafen, aber bei Menschen mit Schlafproblemen wie Schlaflosigkeit ist diese Beziehung viel komplexer.

Menschen, die an Schlaflosigkeit leiden, haben eine Übererregung des Stresssystems, und eine einzige Trainingseinheit an einem bestimmten Tag reicht nicht aus, um diese Aufregung zu überwinden. Sie könnte sogar verschlimmert werden, da Bewegung ein körperlicher Stressfaktor ist. Wie aus den Ergebnissen einer kürzlich in der Zeitschrift veröffentlichten Studie hervorgehtDas Journal of Clinical Sleep MedicineWenn ein kontinuierliches Trainingsprogramm mindestens 4 Monate lang aufrechterhalten wird, verbessert körperliche Bewegung den Schlaf.

Anscheinend wirkt sich Schlaf bei Patienten mit Schlaflosigkeit mehr auf die Bewegung aus als auf die Bewegung im Schlaf.

Die Autoren rekrutierten 11 Schlaflosigkeitspatienten, die nach dem Zufallsprinzip ausgewählt wurden, inaktiv zu bleiben oder ein moderates Widerstandstrainingsprogramm (normalerweise ein stationäres Fahrrad oder ein Laufband) zu starten, das aus 3 oder 4 30-minütigen Sitzungen pro Woche bestand. zur gleichen Zeit, als ihre Schlafgewohnheiten aufgezeichnet wurden. Dieses Übungsprogramm dauerte 16 Wochen

Die Probanden berichteten selten, dass sie nach dem Training während des Tages besser geschlafen hatten, sie berichteten jedoch, dass sie nach einem schlechten Schlaf für kürzere Zeiträume trainierten.

Obwohl die Probanden nach zwei Monaten nach Durchführung des Trainingsprogramms ihren Schlaf nicht verbessert hatten, zeigten sie nach vier Monaten eine Besserung. Am Ende dieser Zeit schliefen die Freiwilligen der Übungsgruppe viel besser als zu Beginn der Studie. Im Durchschnitt war die Schlafdauer in den meisten Nächten zwischen 45 Minuten und einer Stunde länger und sie wachten auf weniger häufig und waren tagsüber aktiver und weniger schläfrig.

Baron KG, Reid KJ und Zee PC. Das Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine (2013). Mehr Informationen.

Verwandte Themen: Wie Bewegung uns helfen kann, besser zu schlafen.

  • Tipps und Heilmittel gegen Schlaflosigkeit
  • Ursachen von Schlaflosigkeit

Video: Herzschwäche: Wie Technik und Medizin helfen. Visite. NDR (September 2020).